Detector????

Informational Topics that are no longer on the first few pages.

Moderators: Forum Moderator, Current Officers, Previous Officers

jomama
Rust Governor
Rust Governor
Answers: 0
Rusty Bunch Member Number: 184
BCCA Number: 23423
eBay name: sPouts
Year Started Collecting: 1979
Zodiac:
United States of America

Detector????

Post by jomama »

I'd like to get a good metal detector - any info from the experts would be helpful. I'm new to detecting and know nothing about them. I've heard that the (Goldbug) is the best but the new Goldbug II is not so good. I have no idea where to get one either. All pros + cons welcome. Please help!!! - Jo............

International ALUMINUM BOTTLES WANTED
Bob DeCamp
Flat Top
Flat Top
Rusty Bunch Member Number: 0
BCCA Number: 13308
eBay name: wheezerwoodworks
Year Started Collecting: 1972
Zodiac:
United States of America

Post by Bob DeCamp »

The old Gold Bug operates at 19 kHz and the Gold Bug II at 71 kHz. That is why the old Gold Bug is preffered by gold prospectors as well. Some other good choices would be:

Tesoro Lobo Super Trac, 17.5 kHz
Garrett Scorpion, 15 kHz
and if money is no object a Minelab GPX 4000 will find a single can at 4+ feet! (I thought is was a big nuggett but turned out to be a Pabst no opener needed buried in a sand wash)

Hope this helps!

Bob
:smt028
jomama
Rust Governor
Rust Governor
Zodiac:
United States of America

Post by jomama »

Thanks Bob!!! I have been only able to find Gold Bud2s on ebay - any other place(s) I might look? Or maybe I'm looking in the wrong places on ebay?

Bob DeCamp
Flat Top
Flat Top
BCCA Number: 13308
eBay name: wheezerwoodworks
Zodiac:
United States of America

Post by Bob DeCamp »

Try your local prospecting stores, or contact Walter Evans at Mining and More (760) 948-3333 He often gets used detectors that come with a warranty.

Good Luck!
:smt028
Conehead
Former Officer
Former Officer
Rusty Bunch Member Number: 109
BCCA Number: 17406
eBay name: Conehead4